top of page

Duo Aspera


Valentina Vargiu - piano

Ghenadie Rotari - accordion


Moldavian accordionist Ghenadie Rotari and Italian pianist Valentina Vargiu sending the energy level in the room even higher […] a brilliant performance […] the audience responded with a standing ovation, something that was both expected and appropriate.

Sound, Word, Sight Arts Magazine

The “Duo Aspera” is a versatile and dynamic piano and accordion duo whose rich concert activity has taken them to perform in concerts across Europe, the United States of America, and Asia.

The duo’s past concert engagements include debuts at the Berliner Philharmonie and the Carnegie Hall in New York, as well as performances in music festivals in Italy, Slovenia, the Czech Republic and Germany. Duo Aspera is the recipient of prizes and awards in various international music competitions, including the “Sony Classical Talent Scout” prize.

The common passion for Astor Piazzolla’s Tango Nuevo and the will to explore the new combined sound of the two instruments brought the two musicians together. The duo studied at the International Chamber Music Academy in Duino with the world-renowned Trio di Parma (Ivan Rabaglia, Enrico Bronzi and Alberto Miodini).


The duo is constantly working on enriching the existing repertoire for piano and accordion by transcribing works written for other instrumentation and by collaborating with composers worldwide, often performing world premieres of works dedicated to them.

For full bio click here

bottom of page